Executive Board Elections


May 31, 2017

11:45 am to 1:15 pm

David Turpin Building Room A120


Sign in required to receive ballot

You will be asked to sign in at the front door. You will receive a ballot book which has a ballot for each of the positions. The Officers will be elected in the following order: President, Vice-President, 2nd Vice-President, Chief Steward, Secretary, Treasurer, Education Committee Chair, Communication Committee Chair, Members-at-Large, Trustees. Prior to the first vote at 12 p.m., the Sergeant at Arms will be asked to close the doors, and no one will be allowed in during the casting of the vote. Once the votes have all been collected by the Elections Committee to be counted, the doors will be reopened. This means that while you cannot enter the room while a vote is being cast, you will be allowed in between votes.


President – Kara White

Vice President – Kirk Mercer

2nd Vice President – Pat Shade

Chief Steward – Laurie Whyte, Ted Godwin

Secretary – Cathrine Jansen

Treasurer – Stefan Grbavec

Education Committee Chair – Maddy Smith, Cheryl DeWolfe

Communications Committee Chair –

Member-at-Large (2 positions) – Cheryl DeWolfe

Trustees (3 yr & 2 yr) – Albert Wiebe, Diana Foreland

If you are concerned about leaving early for the meeting please note the following from Article 3.05 of the CUPE 951 collective agreement:

The University recognizes that, it may not be possible for the Union to complete the business of its regular monthly General and Executive meetings within the normal noon-hour period.  In such event, the University agrees that any employee who attends any such meeting between September and June will not be penalized for a late return to work which does not exceed ½ hour.

Similarly any employee working a modified work schedule who normally take a ½ hour lunch break and who attends such meetings between September and June for a one hour period during the normal noon hour period, will not be penalized for a late return which does not exceed 1/2 hour however the employee will be required to make-up time for any late return in excess of their normal lunch break plus 1/2 hour.

The Union agrees to provide the University with an attendance record of such meetings on request.  Union or Executive members who do not have a scheduled lunch break at the time of such meetings may apply to have their lunch break rescheduled.  Such requests will not be unreasonably denied.


On behalf of the Elections Committee: Sheila Wheaton, Michael Gaudet and Mike Thomas (alternate Cathy Henderson).