Stewards

The steward is primarily a problem solver. “Solving” could mean mediating a dispute between two members, talking informally to a supervisor, submitting a written grievance, or referring the problem to the union Health and Safety or Bargaining Committee. — CUPE Steward’s Handbook.

Unlike some locals, CUPE 951 does not have “shop stewards” who represent specific groups of workers or are assigned to specific buildings, although we do have Child Care stewards who are specifically trained to deal with issues in that work group. Stewards marked (RTWA) are specialists in return to work and accommodation issues.

Chief Steward:

Deputy Chief Steward:

  • Bo Love                           250-472-5109   250-634-8440 (cell)  love@uvic.ca

Stewards:

  • Jeta Rugova-Plakolli       250-472-4545    250-588-9774 (cell)      jetarp@uvic.ca
  • Andrea Roszmann           250-721-8036    250-213-1397 (cell)      aroszmann@uvic.ca
  • Ashleigh Carlsen              250-721-8675    778-868-3402 (cell)      burnsa@uvic.ca
  • Page DeWolfe                    250-472-4971    250-661-6480 (cell)      cdewolfe@uvic.ca
  • Laurie Whyte (RTWA)    250-721-7623     250-812-8485 (cell)      lwhyte@uvic.ca
  • Pat Shade (RTWA)           250-721-6556     250-882-2811 (cell)      pshade@uvic.ca
  • Kate Brooks (RTWA)       250-721-6672                                              kbrooks@uvic.ca
  • Kara White (RTWA)         250-721-8245                                              kwhite@uvic.ca
  • Diana Foreland (RTWA) 250-721-8501                                         dianaforeland@shaw.ca
When should I contact a steward?
  • you don’t understand part of the contract
  • after an injury or absence to reintegrate into your job
  • you have questions about your benefits or rights
  • you think your rights under the contract have been denied, ignored, or undermined
  • you need to adapt your job through reduced or alternate duties due to a disability (permanent or temporary)
  • you have been called to a meeting with management that may impact the terms of your employment
  • you receive notice regarding a change to your employment
  • you are called to a disciplinary meeting
  • you are being harassed or made to feel uncomfortable in the workplace
  • you have a conflict with another member or a manager
  • you believe that union work is being privatized, contracted out, or being assigned to or completed by workers outside the union
  • you are interested in volunteering as a steward